KILMACOLM was the 'mane' attraction as hundreds of spectators flocked to the popular agricultural show.

The finest breeds of horses, sheep, cattle and livestock were on display at the 183rd annual Kilmacolm and Port Glasgow Agricultural Society show.

Held within the Knapps - thanks to the kind permission of Lord Maclay, Mrs Smith and Robert Baxter - there was a jam-packed programme of events.

Giulia Canata, the event's light horse secretary, said it was great to see the community come together to celebrate all things agricultural.

She said: "It went really well, and the weather was fantastic.

"It's always a lovely day for the community and we had a really good attendance.

"We had people travelling to the show from places like Campbeltown, Edinburgh, Arran and Oban.

"We had a great number of entries across the board.

"I think everyone enjoys our show because all ages and abilities can enter and the horse section is always really popular.

"We also had lots of Highland cattle entries this year."

There were also lots of stalls, food outlets, refreshment stands and exhibitors - all of it set against the picturesque backdrop of the Knapps Loch.

Giulia was keen to thank everyone who attended and all the volunteers who help to make the show such a huge success.

She added: "I can't thank the volunteers enough as they put in a power of work, especially the girls who built the cross country course.

"They spend a week and a half working day and night on it.

"The show is a lot of work, but always well worth it."

Results round up:


Most points in the Dairy classes - Robert Baxter

Best Dairy Animal in the Show - Robert Baxter

Beef Champion - John Laird

Highland Champion - Glasgow City Council

Beef and Highland Supreme Champion - Glasgow City Council

Most points in sheep section - Russell Baxter

Overall sheep championship - Robin Blair

Most points in Clydesdale Section - George Robertson

Best Clydesdale In The Field - A & E Campbell

Children’s Classes Champion Calf - Euan Laird

Best Young Handler - Jayden McLachlan

Premium List (Henry Lithgow Trophy) - Russell Baxter


Best in Show - Shelby, Great Dane, Lawton & Sneddon

Reserve Best in Show - Kaiser, German SH Pointer, Ken Currie

Best Puppy in Show - Axel, Dachshund Mini Smooth, Colette Morrin

Best Veteran in Show - Poppy, German SH Pointer, Jordan McKinstry

Best Junior Handler in Show - Flynn, Lacey Fallon


Supreme Champion - Julie Donn and Glenfyne Billicoy

Horse Champion - Linda McMillan and Dollar Rae

Pony Champion - Heather Dick and Dunstruan Duich Mhor

Utility Champion - Julie Donn and Glenfyne Billicoy

Veteran Champion - Eloise Justice-Vose and Poetic Justice

Handy Pony Champion - Victoria Murdoch and Bailey

Fancy Dress Champion - Millie Lawrie and Sparkle

Cross Country Wobblies winner - Sophie Barrett and Captain

Cross Country Junior winner - Charlie Burns and World Horse Welfare Twiggy

Cross Country Novice winner - Declan Sinclair and Beau

Cross Country Open winner - Clair Beaton and Irish Skipper

Cross Country Pairs winners - Nicola Craig and Echo/Georgia Laurie and Drambuie