The winners of the Greenock Telegraph Community Champion Awards 2024 have been revealed in a glittering ceremony at Greenock Town Hall. 

Each and every finalist across the 11 categories was deserving of a trophy and their achievements were all celebrated on the night. 

The awards recognise, reward, and honour the achievements and endeavours undertaken each and every day by the local people in the communities throughout Inverclyde.

Winners of the 2024 awards (Image: Newsquest)

Jennifer Reoch hosted the June 7 awards, sponsored by RCH Group, Arnold Clark, Clyde Eats, A & I Geotechnical, Platinum Paving, Vango, LOCALiQ, and Newsquest Events Scotland & Northern Ireland.

We can now reveal, the winners are: 

Sporting Champion of the Year 

  • Glenpark Harriers
  • Greenock Wanderers
  • Paul McNaught
  • Rhys McCole – winner

  • Eddie McCluskey

Teacher of the Year

  • Calum Edenborough
  • Linda Jackson
  • May Hughes - winner

Youth Community Champion of the Year - sponsored by Clyde Eats

  • Ben Kane - Clydeview Academy – winner

  • Inverclyde Amateur Swimming Club
  • Jade McDonald
  • Sky McCabe

Little Champion of the Year - sponsored by Platinum Paving

  • Abbie Marshall - winner

  • Alyssa McLellan - winner

  • Harriet McConway - winner

  • Naomi Rankin - winner

Health & Care Champion of the Year

  • Andrew Nisbet
  • Dance for Parkinson's Classes - winner

  • Inverclyde RH Staff - clinical nurse specialist Lesley Ann Glancy and consultant Dr Sylvia Brown.
  • Man On! Inverclyde
  • Skylark Centre - Inverclyde Royal Hospital
  • Your Voice

Senior Community Champion of the Year

  • Eddie McCluskey
  • Jim Hearl
  • Sadie Martin – winner

Business Champion of the Year

  • Belville Community Gardens
  • GlowBambino Inverclyde
  • John Laird – winner

  • Platinum Paving

Charity Champion of the Year – sponsored by Arnold Clark

  • Diane Rebecchi - Burns Lounge, Braeside
  • Helen Coyle
  • James Crawford – winner

  • Karen Taylor
  • Tony Phillips

Live Music Award

  • Chol Riak
  • Home for Joy
  • Maria McMaster
  • Riverside Youth Band - winner


Community Champion of the Year – sponsored by RCH Group

  • FUNdraising Inverclyde – winner

  • Hammy's Out of School
  • Home Start Inverclyde - Dad's Group
  • Tots & Tea

Heart of Gold – sponsored by A&I Geotechnical

  • Andrew Nisbet – winner

  • Brendan Hamil
  • Claire Ford
  • Jim Gannon
  • Richard Courtney

Judge’s Special Recognition Award

  • Hammy's Out of School

Outstanding Contribution to Community - sponsored by Vango

  • Your Voice Inverclyde