INVERCLYDE AC had two teams representing the club at the recent Scottish Veteran Harriers Annual Road Race Championships sponsored by LSK at Strathclyde Park.

David Henderson, having competed in the Valencia Marathon in December and now focusing on the London Marathon, was on the first lap for the ‘A’ team, finishing in a very creditable sixth place. David Tamburini, also had a strong and determined run to bring the ‘B’ team back in 13th place.

Gregor Yates took over on the second lap, showing some blistering pace as he passed all the runners in front of him to finish with the ‘A’ team in first place and also recording the fastest lap of the day. Alan Callan, in his first competitive race for a while, consolidated the ‘B’ team’s 13th place.

Jonathan Roebuck, returning to fitness, couldn’t hold off the speed of Edinburgh AC’s Ian Whitaker and finished with the team in 2nd place. Jason Kane took over on the third lap for the ‘B’ team and ran strongly to bring them back in ninth place.

On the anchor leg, Mark Doherty ran the third fastest time of the day to finish in second place silver team medal position. Pete Tucker ran the ‘B’ team's fastest time of the day to maintain their ninth place overall and they were impressively the first ‘B’ team to finish.

The club thanks Colin Doherty for team management.

For more information about club activities, either go to the club website and click on the dropdown button ‘Contact Us’ or email

Inverclyde AC is supported by Diodes Inc, Inverclyde Council, Inverclyde Leisure, Smiths of Greenock, Succession Wealth.

Inverclyde AC is an accredited club with Active Schools Inverclyde.